top of page

Is Depp the Next Hollywood Elite to Flush His Career Down the Toilet?


Update: I am impressed that he came out and apologized for his statements. I think it takes a bigger man to admit when he is wrong than someone who is wrong but just doesn't have the balls to come out and admit. For that, I say, "Bravo! You're every bit the adult I had hoped you would be."

According to an article published in the Washington Times, Depp had this to say, “I apologize for the bad joke I attempted last night in poor taste about President Trump,” he said in a statement to People magazine. “It did not come out as intended, and I intended no malice. I was only trying to amuse, not to harm anyone.”

 

It seems that among Hollywood elite, its now in vogue to say you want to assassinate President Trump. Johnny Depp is a superb Actor, and a fair musician, but he is now under fire for doing just that.

Star of the “Pirates of the Caribbean” films, Depp was in Glastonbury, England promoting his new film, “The Libertine” at an event called Cinemageddon when he mentioned the president’s name.

“I think he needs help,” said Depp, “There are a lot of wonderful dark, dark places he could go.”

He continued:

“Its just a question. I’m not insinuating anything. By the way, this is gong to be in the press, it will be horrible, but I like that you’re all a part of it.

When was the last time an actor assassinated a president?”

The crowd erupted in cheers for Depp.

“Now I want to clarify, I’m not an actor,” he said, “I lie for a living.”

This comes after just recently, Kathy Griffin flushed her career down the toilet by posing with the bloody head of Donald Trump, after which she was subsequently fired by CNN. In addition to that, protests erupted in New York over the staging of Shakespeare’s “Julius Caesar” where the main character gets stabbed to death, and happens to look like Trump.

All I really have to say is that yes, Johnny Depp is a good actor, he’s been in a lot of films, he plays a lot of very diverse characters. He takes roles that other Hollywood leading men would turn down, and he turns them in to cinema gold. Of that, there is no doubt. However, for the sake of his career and his fans, he should keep his political opinions to himself, especially the ones that include suggesting that a sitting president of the United States should be killed. Not a smart move on his part.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Wix Facebook page
bottom of page